National Health Service Corp Scholarship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smme

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone who has a scholarship would be willing to answer some questions via email. Anyone else who knows a lot about NHSC would be helpful too.

Please email [email protected]

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

I am an older non traditional student and know alot about thevarious programs.you have to besur you want primary care and no fellowships until after training. you have to do FP,IM,PEDS, PSYCH, or OB/GYN. You get all you tuition paid and roughly 15000 a year(that is taxable). Got to the NHSC web site. You choose where to do your pay back so in Chicago right now there are 3 openings. You would call the clinic negotiate salary (min of I believe 32 hrs a week in the clinic) NHSC has specific dates for interviews etc. I f you wanted Fellowship training you would do that after residency and after you served 4 years in the NHSC. Also, They use a pschological multiple choice test to screen applicants. Pick either urban or Rural (you can tell by the questions). Then they invite you for an interview. You won't know about the scholarship until Fall, so you have to have your loans lined up. Most MI do not get the Scholarship. Older students tend to be the ones that get the 1st year scholarships. Also, if you are from Chicago check out the state program. I am into CCOM and 2 MD schools. My wife and I are originally from Chiacgo so maybe I will see you in August at CCOM. Good LUcK! Also have you volunteered at any free clinics?

------------------

Typing w/ a 5 month old is difficult sorry about the typos.

------------------

Members don't see this ad :)