National Public Health Service Corps vs. Military Healthcare Scholarship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RummyMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody I'm currently a sophomore undergrad and I've been trying to figure out which of those two programs to use to help me pay to get through medical school. I know that the NPHSC pretty much pays back your med school tuition if you agree to work in an underserved area located in various places around the country. After your term is served, then you are free to practice where you please. As for the military healthcare scholarship, they pay for all of your med school and residency costs up front, while paying you a stipend as a military officer throughout your schooling. And once your schooling is finished, you pay back the military by serving for the number of years you were in residency/sub-specialty. And again when you finish your repayment you can remain in the military or be discharged and work wherever you like.