Navy EM Info?

Discussion in 'Military Medicine' started by HotCARLton, Dec 29, 2008.

1. HotCARLton

7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I was hoping that a few of you could donate some info about Navy emergency medicine. I am a 2nd year medical student, and the closer I get to my third year, the more I feel uninformed. As an Osteopathic student, would you recommend taking the USMLE if I am interested in EM or other moderately competitive specialties? On the average year how competitive is EM in the Navy? Are most deferred to civilian residencies? Would one recommend a surgical, transitional, or internal med internship?
    Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Also as a second year I have no idea what I will eventually go in to, so if any other specialties would like to comment please do.

2. BOHICA-FIGMO

BOHICA-FIGMO Belt-fed Physician
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Not sure that matters. Just do as well as you can on the COMLEX.

Very. Portsmouth has taken exactly one intern straight through training (without GMO tour) in the 20 odd year history of the program.

Not this year my friend. We had two GME-1 deferments: 1 for neurosurgery and one for IM, presumably for hardship reasons. What they do in future years is still up in the air.

Any of those will work for EM. Transitional has about half the call months of either IM or surgery.

3. HotCARLton

7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Thanks for the reply. You mentioned straight through training being very competitive. Do you know how many EM residents they take per year including GMOs? Post GMO, does EM still remain as competitive as you described?

4. BOHICA-FIGMO

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]