Navy EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Perrotfish

Has an MD in Horribleness
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Some questions about Navy EM

1) It looks like the Navy does not currently have a Navy EM Intern year, that EM residents just do a transitional year, then a GMO tour, and then apply. Is that correct?

2) If that's correct, is there any particular reason why I should rotate at Navy EM sites as a medical student? I mean, I've heard they're not particularly educational, so is there any advantage to my career if I spend my time there and show I'm a good student? It seems like everyone there would have rotated out by the time I'd finished my GMO tour and got around to applying.

3) I know the Navy gives out a decent number of deferments for EM. Is there anything I can do to enhance my chances of getting a deferment? Does rotating at a Navy EM site help with that?

4) For those that have trained in the Navy, any particular site look better than the rest? I've heard that Navy EM is really mostly acute care, but is there one site that's less like that then the others?

Thank you all again. Hopefully I'll stop starting threads soon.

Members don't see this ad.

1) It looks like the Navy does not currently have a Navy EM Intern year, that EM residents just do a transitional year, then a GMO tour, and then apply. Is that correct?

2) If that's correct, is there any particular reason why I should rotate at Navy EM sites as a medical student? I mean, I've heard they're not particularly educational, so is there any advantage to my career if I spend my time there and show I'm a good student? It seems like everyone there would have rotated out by the time I'd finished my GMO tour and got around to applying.

3) I know the Navy gives out a decent number of deferments for EM. Is there anything I can do to enhance my chances of getting a deferment? Does rotating at a Navy EM site help with that?