Navy FAP vs. 2 year Navy HPSP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctor4Life1769

**tr0llin, ridin dirty**
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so I have been contemplating joining the military. The question has been if I should join via HPSP or FAP. I'm currently a 3rd year student. I spoke with a Navy recruiter, and I would get my last years paid for, with stipend, and the 20K sign-on bonus. However, since there's no 2 for 2 plan, I'd be paying back with 3 yrs of service (in addition to 1 more with the 20K bonus). So, 20K bonus+2 yrs of tuition/stipends and give back 4 years of service. Given this situation, would it still be worth joining on via HPSP or should I wait until FAP? I know with FAP, when I enter residency, I can get however many years (45K/year) on top of civilian pay + 1 year. Which route would be best to go with? I have to make this decision really soon and any and all advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Ok, so I have been contemplating joining the military. The question has been if I should join via HPSP or FAP. I'm currently a 3rd year student. I spoke with a Navy recruiter, and I would get my last years paid for, with stipend, and the 20K sign-on bonus. However, since there's no 2 for 2 plan, I'd be paying back with 3 yrs of service (in addition to 1 more with the 20K bonus). So, 20K bonus+2 yrs of tuition/stipends and give back 4 years of service. Given this situation, would it still be worth joining on via HPSP or should I wait until FAP? I know with FAP, when I enter residency, I can get however many years (45K/year) on top of civilian pay + 1 year. Which route would be best to go with? I have to make this decision really soon and any and all advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!