reg15

10+ Year Member
Mar 8, 2005
Status
Hi all, I have some specific questions that I would appreciate any and all comments/suggestions/feedback on any or all of my questions:

I am interested in the NAVY, as I would like to do GMO tour and save residency till after (primarily because I am interested in Neurology and residencies in Neurology do not tend to be as good in the armed services, as they shouldn’t be). I graduated from school in 2001 (so I’m already on the “older side”) and have been doing research at a hospital in Boston (I’ve already been accepted to med school).

1) Deployable vs. non-deployable billets: Are there a lot more deployable billets now (semi-wartime)?

2) What is the % of people to get their first choice of base/hospital? This application process depends on? med school scores? Rec letters? Time in service?

3) How many apply for DMO or flight surgeon? And roughly what % get one or the other?

4) During your reserve years, what is the % of people activated? During wartime? Semi-wartime (Iraq, now)? Do you have a choice of where/with what base/hopsital your activated to?

Thank you in advance for your thoughts.
-reg

ishii123

10+ Year Member
Mar 13, 2005
Status
Attending Physician
First off, expect to do a GMO, Flight Surgeon (FS), and/or Undersea Medical Officer (UMO) tour after a Navy internship. Going straight thru residency is the exception, not the rule. This is a positive to some. Negative to others. Personally, I've enjoyed being a FS for the past year.

Here's the answers to your questions:
1) Deployable vs. non-deployable billets: Are there a lot more deployable billets now (semi-wartime)?
ANSWER: All GMO, FS, and UMO billets in the Navy are deployable. In this post 9/11 era and our government's current military policies, expect to deploy. I know AT LEAST 2 Navy docs who were in "non-deployable" clinic billets that were deployed to Iraq. Deployments typically last 6 months.