BOTH NBME 21: 170, NBME 16: 182, UWSA: 183, three weeks left until USMLE, help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

joujou116

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey - I'm currently half way through UWorld, have been working on my content gaps, but even so, Immunology/Genetics/Biochemistry are still some of my weakest areas. I'm a DO student and at this point, I don't know if it's worth taking USMLE and if I should just focus on COMLEX. Other than getting through all of UWorld before my test date, any other tips, pointers, words of inspiration, prayers? I'm at a hump and I need to figure out what to do to get over it. Background - average medical student with all A's and B's in school, but standardized tests always get the best of me. I'm desperate at this point :|

5/16: NBME 21 - 170
5/29: NBME 16: - 182
6/10: UWSA1 - 183

Members don't see this ad.

You can get to passing level by the time you take the test but what is your goal?

Thank you for responding, I literally feel so stuck right now. My goal is a 230-240. I just don't see how I can jump from a 183 to 230 in three weeks, but I'm also holding out hope that one day that leap happens and I just don't know what to do.

Thank you for responding, I literally feel so stuck right now. My goal is a 230-240. I just don't see how I can jump from a 183 to 230 in three weeks, but I'm also holding out hope that one day that leap happens and I just don't know what to do.

UWSA1 notoriously overpredicts by 10-15, so you'd have to consider yourself in the 170's currently. Unless you're pretty sure you can bump 10 points per week you may be at risk for not passing Step.

Members don't see this ad :)
If that’s your goal you need to delay. A 230-240 requires solid knowledge of all content and adequate question answering strategies

Reactions: 1 user