Need a little pre-pharmacy info: Pre-Pharmacy vs Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Paulz

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am currently a pre-med/pre-health student. I was just wondering what the benefits of Pre-Pharmacy were over Pre-Med? Why did you guys choose pre-pharmacy? Just wondering. Currently a freshman just trying to get new ideas and such. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

it's not the difference between being a pre-pharm vs. pre-med, as most of the prereq's are the same, but whether you want to be a physician or a pharmacist.

Well, why would someone pick pharmacy over medicine? Is it personal reasons, financial/working differences, lesser hours? I am totally unfamiliar with it and just wondering. Can anyone help me out here?

Members don't see this ad :)
Have you shadowed a pharmacist or a physician? everyone has different reasons for picking a particular field/career. I was pre-med and switched after a while because I realized that I would never see my family as a physician (in teh field I wanted to go into). As a pharmacist, I will have a personal life yet still have many career oppurtunities (retail, clinical, nuclear and so on). I recommend you follow someone around in both areas of healthcare (prefereably different specialties) and then you can make a more educated decision on what works for YOU.

How do hours of a pharmacist compare to that of a physician? As well as the work load in med-school and the time after that? I am looking into it because I am not sure what I want to do yet and maybe pharmacy would be a better fit for me than an actual physician, I do not know.

It depends on the kind of pharmacy one does. Nuclear pharmacy seems to be the most time-dependent, but most seem to be regular 8 hour shifts, while some hospitals do 7 days-on then 7 days-off work schedules, but you work 12 hour shifts on your days on.