Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

need a moonlighting opportunity in NY

Discussion in 'General Residency Issues' started by inscape2004, May 7, 2007.

1. inscape2004

Resident [Any Field]
    current PM&R resident, s/p internship in medicine

anyone know any sleepy community hospitals or nursing homes in need of moonlighting MD?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. castaway

castaway Senior Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Just resurrecting this old thread....

I'm an EM resident in NYC looking to moonlight (licensed in NY) in or around NYC but I have yet to find any fruitful leads despite a lot of looking around. Does anyone know of EDs or even urgent care/walk-in clinics that use moonlighters? I'd really appreciate any info!!

4. Usually the best leads will come from your fellow residents.

5. dragonfly99

Attending Physician
    I heard it is hard to find moonlighting jobs in New York. I think there are more IMG's employed as "fellows" who are waiting to get an upper level residency spot. Also, there are more docs in general in New York than in some other areas. Where I live (in the South) moonlighting jobs are falling off the trees...more than you could ever do!
    Agree w/checking with your fellow residents.
    You could also call up local urgent care centers/doc in the box type places and see if they need someone to help out on weekend or at night, etc.

6. roja

Attending Physician
    Yup. NYC is almost impossible to moonlight in. To many BE/BC docs. However, if you *could* travel about 4 hours, you might be able to find something. But then you have to ask yourself if its really worth it.

7. castaway

castaway Senior Member

Resident [Any Field]