Need Advice-Extenuating Circumstance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted303591

I have been forced to take medical withdrawal 3 times from university. I am a Junior with a 3.2 GPA, and I am majoring in Electrical Engineering.

In January, I was diagnosed with a rare autoimmune neuromuscular disease that affects my autonomic nervous system and I was forced to take this year off. I spent 7 weeks in the hospital this year, including 4 days in the ICU.

I have suffered with this mysterious disease, known as X, for several years. The disease is so rare that there are only case reports of the disease. Also, there is only one lab in the United States that tests for my disease.

I am fortunate because I was googling one morning in the ER and I came across this disease. I was subsequently tested for it.

I want to serve a cause higher than myself and I have been interested in medicine for years. I want to become a doctor, but I do not know if this is possible given my extreme circumstance.

I have been pursuing my undergraduate degree since Fall 2007. Also, I was unable to be in school full-time at times, due to my health.

My GPA is only going to get higher now that I am becoming healthier.

What should I do to improve my chances of getting in to medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am also afraid of explaining my circumstance on my medical school application.

My disease is rare and no prognosis has been established for it.

Also, I will need accommodations on the MCAT.

Will this hurt my chances? This tears me up inside.

I have been forced to take medical withdrawal 3 times from university. I am a Junior with a 3.2 GPA, and I am majoring in Electrical Engineering.