need advice for a 1st year medical student...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shreypete

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guyz,
So I'm currently a first year medical student at a european medical university (which is 6 years in length). I don't really know when I should start preparing fro the USMLEs. The first year is coming to an end in about 3 months and then I have about 3 months of vaccation (of course it all depends on when I finish my exams) so I might also end up having only 2 months of vaccation. Would you recommend me to prepare for the USMLEs starting this summer? or should I read up on some of the 2nd year subjects? Thanks a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

Here is a basic structure of our curriculum:
First year:
Anatomy 1,2
Anatomic Dissections 1,2
Biophysics
Biology and Genetics 1
Cell Biology
Introduction to Medical Studies
General Histology
First Aid, Meeting with the Clinicians
Particular histology and embryology
Basic Medical Terminology 1,2
Medical Informatics 1,2

2nd year
Biology and Genetics 2
Medical Chemistry and Biochemistry 1,2
Microbiology 1
Patient Care
Summer Clerkship: Extended patient care

3rd yr.
Pharmacology 1
Integrated Block: Microbiology/Pathology
Propaedeutics in Internal Medicine
Medical Ethics and Philosophy 2
Medical Psychology and Psychotherapy 1,2
Microbiology 2
Pathobiochemistry
Pathophysiology 1,2
Pathology 1,2
Basic Immunology 2

Years 4-6 are all arranged in blocks of 3-4 weeks per subject (similar to the American medical system). Thank you.

A couple of things...