Need Advice for Reinvention & Beyond

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eugenedelacroix

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm going to preface by saying I know I screwed up. I know I did.

TLDR: I got extremely depressed, grades sunk, and graduated a year early and started working b/c of aforementioned depression. Lots of stuff was going on both from family side and internally what I was experiencing. I realize that med school is iffy about applicants who have had mental health issues (at least according to these forums), but I'm doing a lot better now...but my application is a mess.

cGPA: ~3.3
sGPA: x < 3.0 ...yup

MCAT: 517 (one thing going for me, and if that)

What have I been doing since I graduated?
1) Working full-time in global health consulting & strategy. This job is great, exciting, and I do feel like I'm making an impact...but I feel so out of tune in working directly with the population...which is why on the weekends I also:

2) Work as a medical scribe (24 hrs/weekend)

I'm working around 70-80hrs/week total right now to do both jobs + volunteering, other organizational work, etc, so I know med school is what I want.

My other EC's do include hospital volunteering, non clinical volunteering, and having founded organizations of my own. Not gonna go to deeply into these EC's, but overall, they are indeed above average and I have traveled around the country/world for them. I will work on getting my shadowing hours hopefully soon.

@Goro @LizzyM and @ everyone who can provide me constructive criticism, please do help me. I really want this, and while I did struggle extremely with my mental health, and sometimes still do, I know that I can do this - and now more than ever - want to and am willing to work hard to do this.