Need advice! GPA: 3.8 and MCAT: 27

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Runforlife

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in need of some advice. I have my heart set on going to an MD school and I am wondering which low MCAT friendly schools I should consider adding to/getting rid of on my list.

Currently I have:

UW Madison (I am a resident)
University of North Dakota
University of Minn and Duluth
Quinnipiac
East Tennessee State
Northeast Ohio
Wright State University
Wayne State
Western Michigan

I submit my AMCAS in early August and I'm wondering if I still have a shot. I have taken a year off from school and have medically related job experience.

I would appreciate any and all advice!

Members don't see this ad.

I am in need of some advice. I have my heart set on going to an MD school and I am wondering which low MCAT friendly schools I should consider adding to/getting rid of on my list.

Currently I have:

UW Madison (I am a resident)
University of North Dakota
University of Minn and Duluth
Quinnipiac
East Tennessee State
Northeast Ohio
Wright State University
Wayne State
Western Michigan

I submit my AMCAS in early August and I'm wondering if I still have a shot. I have taken a year off from school and have medically related job experience.

I would appreciate any and all advice!
I suggest adding Rosalind Franklin and UIllinois (if the high OOS tuition for the latter isn't an issue), Oakland (MI), NYMC, and EVMS. And why not MCW in your home state?

Whether you have a shot or not will depend on how comprehensive your ECs are overall, as they will need to compensate for the lateness of your application and the lower MCAT score (hopefully with balanced subscores)

I suggest adding Rosalind Franklin and UIllinois (if the high OOS tuition for the latter isn't an issue), Oakland (MI), NYMC, and EVMS. And why not MCW in your home state?