thechenster

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Jun 19, 2008
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi All,
I am a rising sophomore in college and need advice from you multitaskers on how to manage my time. This coming semester, I have set a lot of goals for myself: a 4.0 GPA (w/ orgo chem on my schedule), playing shows w/ my band, being active in my fraternity, wrestling on the club team, and doing research.

Can those of you who have been through the whole college ordeal tell me if this is feasible or if I will just burn myself out? Personally, I experienced a lot of burnout freshman year where I'd do well academically in the first half of the semester but become too lazy to keep it up in the 2nd half.

Should I cut out some activities? All of what I have listed is extremely important to me except research. I could do that next summer or junior year (Is having only a year of research a good idea for applying to med schoool?)

Finally, what are some time management strategies that you use? The only thing I really do during the school year is plan out my week on google calendar, but even then I don't always accomplish everything I have set out.

Sorry for the obnoxiously long post. Any help is appreciated

zerial

10+ Year Member
Jan 31, 2009
Status
Medical Student
hmm... i'm going to be honest with you, some of my time management strategies are kind of painful.

1. don't spend excessive time on things like eating. if you can cut down meals to 10-15 min, that's extra minutes for other things.

2. find a way to always be accomplishing something. for me, i learned how to study while i was walking by loading notes into my pda phone, so i could memorize while i was walking, and then studying becomes a lot easier.

3. if you find yourself wasting time, you just have to figure out how to make yourself focus. i don't think there's any secret to this. this is really the best time management strategy, is to stop wasting time on things like facebook and sdn.