Need advice on which path to take: MD vs NP+PHD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sinewy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please advise! thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi forum!

I'm looking for some advice on which path I should take to reach my eventual career goal, which is to do clinical research and study how mental illness (particularly depression) alters perception and views on reality.

I have a degree in neuroscience, and I am about to begin an accelerated BSN which I will complete in a year. After this, I am not sure if I should apply to medical school and become a psychiatrist, or continue on to an NP program and become a psychiatric nurse practitioner and then purse a PHD in cognitive psychology or become an NP and then study clinical psychology.

I guess I am trying to see if medical school would be worth it, or will the NP license (with a Psychology PHD) be enough to work independently with a clinical population and head my own research studies.

Please advise! thanks

If you have your premed reqs done and aren't totally phased by medicine, then I suggest the MD route. It provides the best reimbursement and most concise training (vs. NP + PhD).

Hi forum!

I'm looking for some advice on which path I should take to reach my eventual career goal, which is to do clinical research and study how mental illness (particularly depression) alters perception and views on reality.

I have a degree in neuroscience, and I am about to begin an accelerated BSN which I will complete in a year. After this, I am not sure if I should apply to medical school and become a psychiatrist, or continue on to an NP program and become a psychiatric nurse practitioner and then purse a PHD in cognitive psychology or become an NP and then study clinical psychology.