Need Advice please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bballer

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, how are you? So let me be straight up and tell you i didnt pass the boards the first time around, passed them the second though. Have average scores, go to an average U.S. medical school, and i really fell in love with my internal medicine rotation when i did it. I worked my but off, did well on it, and learned a lot. I think i can be a good internist and would like to pursue this career. Can anyone give me advice on how hard it is gonna be for me to get a medicine residency? I would like to do a university based one in the south. Places i would love to go include UNC, UVA, UMD, Emory, UF, UT, ect ect. I have lived in a small city all my life and would really like to go to a big city like Atlanta, DC, Houston, Baltimore, type cities. I'm a third year student looking for any advice you might have. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Just do the best that you can in your clerkships. Do a clerkship at the programs that you are very interested in. While on the rotation work very hard, know everything about your patients, look up articles and bring them for the residenst/fellows/attendings, ask questions: just be enthusiastic. Ask for a letter of recommendation after the clerkship from the attending ylu wroked with.
During your fourth year aply early.

:rolleyes:

Thanks for the response man. I guess thats all I can do at this point. Is there anyone out there with a similar story like mine who went through the internal medicine match process and wouldnt mind sharing their experience?

Members don't see this ad :)
Bballer,