NEED ADVICE! SHOULD I DROP ORGANIC 2?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by FUTUREPHARMACIST, 01.14.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. FUTUREPHARMACIST

FUTUREPHARMACIST

Pre-Pharmacy
    I'm currently a sophomore pre-pharmacy major. I took Organic 1 last January and made a D because I slacked off on studying. I then took the class again the following summer (around 4-5 weeks long) and made a B, but I didn't really learn the reactions well. I'm in org. 2 now. Should I drop the class and take org. 1 again to really learn the reactions or should I stay in org. 2 and just review from org. 1? Has anyone else passed org.2 with an A without having a good foundation in org. 1? HELP, ADVICE NEEDED!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. chemguy79

chemguy79 New Member Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

I'm surprised that your school allowed you to take Orgo 2 with a below average grade in Orgo 1. For example, UNC requires that students pass the pre-requisite class with a C- or greater.

Since Orgo 2 builds on the knowledge that you learned in Orgo 1, you should retake Orgo 1 this semester.

4. corey407woc

corey407woc 2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    No I was I the same situation as you and orgo 2 is very different from orgo 1 in my opinion why take again when you've passed

5. FUTUREPHARMACIST

FUTUREPHARMACIST

Pre-Pharmacy
    After making a D in org. 1 I retook it and made a B. Now i'm in org.2

6. Jibby321

Jibby321 Ready or Not...... 2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    You got a B on the retake. Don't waste your time and money retaking again.

kovop likes this.
  7. FUTUREPHARMACIST

FUTUREPHARMACIST

Pre-Pharmacy
    How'd do in org.2?

8. chemguy79

chemguy79 New Member Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member