Need help describing clinical research project in secondary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MareNostrummm

D.O. Class of 2022
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm working on filling out secondaries right now and a lot of schools are asking what my plans are during the 2017-2018 year before I would matriculate into medical school. I want to talk about a clinical research project that I've been volunteering on at a local medical school (started in February 2017).

The research project is looking at the effectiveness of certain procedures in the emergency department, I can go into details via PM. (I got onto the project because I worked as a medical scribe for the MD/PhD and I was interested in his emergency medicine research). Anyway, my only real tasks have been:

1. Shadowing during procedures (not much else I can do).
2. Conduct a literature review (so we can cite the relevant articles) and write the manuscript (I've been given access to all the excel sheets, data, IRB application etc. I meet with the PI to discuss articles and help to determine secondary outcomes of the procedures (if we have enough power to look at BMI, gender, pain levels, etc).

In exchange, I get to have my name as a coauthor on the paper when it is eventually published.

Anyway, I'm almost done writing the draft of my paper, which my PI and I will edit. However, we're continuing to enroll patients into the Fall (although the results might change slightly the data we already have is significant so I can write the paper with what we have), but I won't have anything tangible until next year. I'll be on this project all the way until I matriculate into med school (hopefully in August 2018).