Need help finding volunteer opportunity for breaks

Jul 27, 2017
Hey friends, I was just wondering if there are any opportunities that could possibly fit these requirements, or if it's all in my head. Basically, I won't be going home (out of state) for a few breaks this academic year and I want to do stuff. For example: thanksgiving break. I applied for American Red Cross' hurricane assistance volunteer program (which is a minimum of 10 days, and I have no class on Fridays) but I am having trouble finding similar things to consider and apply for.

My ideal gig is:
  1. Time frame ranges from 1-2 weeks
  2. Heavy on hours, 6-10 hour days would be perfect as I hate not being productive
  3. Preferably clinical in some way, but doesn't have to be
  4. Not "voluntourism" meaning not too pricey and I actually want to do something helpful
Also, I'm a certified EMT and pharmacy tech (which I'm aware aren't the most useful things but it's what I have). I'd want to stay relatively local as it's more cost efficient; not to mention there's no need to go abroad when you can just serve your own community's needs. Any ideas?

boogiecousins94

2+ Year Member
May 16, 2017
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
See if there are special olympics events in your area during those breaks, they're one time volunteering in terms of commitment and all you do is sign up for a shift online. Usually can sign up for multiple shifts and do 8-10hrs a day but this would probably only be on weekends

Goro

Gold Donor
7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status
Non-Student
Check with your local houses if worship.

Reactions: jm192
About the Ads
Aug 2, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
A great place to start is to think about what type of communities you want to work with.

Children? Summers usually have programs to provide children from low-income families with lunches and activities. Also check out your local children's hospital.