MohMan

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 19, 2004
Status
I am currently a sophomore, and will be transferring out of a community college into a 4 yr. Out of all the acceptances, Im torn between UCLA and UCI. I really had my eyes set on LA since...forever! But everyone I know at UCLA and others who go to the other UC's tell me not to go there. Theyre tellin me that my GPA is gonna plunge when I transfer and theres a very low chance of getting research there due to the enormous amont of students going there. Irvine, on the other hand, is said tohave "less competition" and more research opportunities. When I made a list of the things I like about both schools, UCI outweighed UCLA when it came to the academic area. Things like professors teaching more than 3 weeks of class (someone told me profs at UCLA teach 3 weeks, and dont like visitors in their office hours...TA's handle all the business), better research opportunities, less distractions--more studying, serene atmosphere. I like UCLA more due to its NAME, student life, sunset, the south-asian student population (although Irvine is 2nd in the UC system), and basically I think if I get into UCLA and dont go--I'd regret it for a long time to come.
I've gone crazy thinking about this situation and most people I talk to are telling me to go to UCI. But most of these people are more or less strangers. One of my good friends, who goes to UCLA as a bio major, told me that they were tellin me not to go because they didnt want extra competition. I dont know what to do! I know no matter how many suggestions/opinions I get, the final deciison will be mine....but still....any comments? :confused: :scared:

uclabruin2003

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 6, 2004
Status