Need help knowing if I should apply or not! Please assist!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

millionairemind92

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys!

This is my first time posting on pre-osteopathic forum; this is also my first time applying to DO schools.

Long story short, I am...

22 year old white male
3 year high school and college graduate
3.95 cumulative undergraduate GPA
3.91 science GPA
4.00 humanities and non-science GPA
graduated magna cum laude in the top 2% of my graduating class
I have taken the MCAT 4 times and the highest I have scored is a 24.

Should I hold off and re-take the MCAT and apply to DO school next year? I am considering doing a Princeton Review Immersion Program for my MCAT this summer.

What do you all think?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Guys!

This is my first time posting on pre-osteopathic forum; this is also my first time applying to DO schools.

22 year old white male
3.91 science GPA

Should I hold off and re-take the MCAT and apply to DO school next year? I am considering doing a Princeton Review Immersion Program for my MCAT this summer.

What do you all think?

Thank you!

Well this depends on the school. Some schools will take the highest. A lot will look at all scores and put the most emphasize on the most recent. Is the 24 the most recent score? If so that's good. 4 mcats could be a red flag. So its not a great situation if you could retake and get a 30+ then that would help a lot. Another bad score might tank your chances further.

Your GPA will help and you could very well get in. I would suggest applying to newer schools with lower averages.

No, the 24 is the 3rd. 17-21-24-23 ...I took the fourth MCAT without knowing the third's score.

Also -

Over 1,000 hours of research laboratory experience

Over 200 hours of clinical shadowing

Over 200 hours of community service

Members don't see this ad :)