Need Help Making a School List and general advice.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

samurai5511

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going to be sending in my primary today or tomorrow and need help making a school list. I am a Texas resident and am for sure applying to TCOM because of the quality of the program and the cost. One of my primary worries is cost and I would like to go to schools with a lower cost of living or tuition but understand you generally go wherever you can get in. I am planning on applying in and out of state DO / MD.

GPA- 3.732
Science GPA-3.41 unless my kinesiology and nutrition courses are counted. If these courses are counted, I would have a 3.41. There is a large discrepancy because I am a nutrition major and took a lot of nutrition and kinesiology courses. A lot of these are heavily based on Bio / Biochem so I am not sure whether or not to count them.
MCAT- 510 CP -125 , CARS - 129, BB- 126, PS - 130
Ethnicity- Hispanic / South American but racially white (not sure if this counts as URM)?
Pre-Med. Committee Letter Recommendation received

Activities:

- Pre SOMA President, VP, and Co-Founder

- Shadowing M.D. - Family Med Sports Med, Internal Med. , Orthopedics for a total of 112 hours

- Shadowing Podiatric Med.- 20 hours

- University Powerlifting Team - VP, Secretary, Treasurer

- Med Life Medical Mission Trip - 40 hrs

- University Choir

- Highschool Powerlifting Certified Judge Volunteer - 64 hrs

- Hospital Volunteering- 150 hrs.

Achievements

- Honor Societies- Phi Kappa Phi, Omicron Delta Kappa

- A University Merit-based Scholarship

- First and Second Place at regional Powerlifting Meets representing my University

- Attended the College National Championship for Powerlifting 3 times
representing my University

- Deans List - 6 semesters

- Most Service hours for the Powerlifting Club Under Leadership