Need help on the road to dental

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

paulee1983

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first post here. Nice to meet you guys!!:clap: I want some advices, especially those who have experienced my situtation. Here is my story.......

I am currently studying Biology A.S. degree in Bakersfield College (Bakersfield, CA), and I am planning to transfer on next fall. As my future goal is to be a dentist, I want to get my B.S. first before I try to knock the door of dental school. My questions are:

1. I would like to transfer to take the Bio B.S. in UCLA 2005 Fall, what is the minimum GPA should I have or other stuff I need to do in order having a higher chance to get in? I am an Asian, male, and my overall GPA right now is about 3.7. (I heard that Asian is harder to get in because of the distribution problems....)

2. My Physics instructor told me that, if I didn't take Calculas based Physics, they would probably screen me off during the application decision. The problem is I am taking my second sememster of normal Physics, and if I urge to take Cal Phy, I can take the second half of the Cal Phy directly, but I need to take an upper level Calculus (Cal 6C in my school) along with it. I want to know is it worthy to do that or I am just wasting my time? lol

3. What other major/universities should I consider to get in the dental school more easily? (My target is UCLA or UCSF though, as Lowa and S.C. were too expensive.....)

4. when will be the application decision begin for Fall 2005 UCLA?

5. What other things I need to notice before I fill in my application? Is there any skill I should learn for writing the application essay?

Thx guys for reading my words.....I would be so glad to receive your replies, thx a lot!!!!

P.S. I just immigrant to U.S. 2 years ago from Hong Kong, so my English may not be that good....be considerate ppl~~hehe