• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Need help/switching programs

youcan'twin

10+ Year Member
Aug 16, 2006
  1. Medical Student
    Hi All, ANYONE ELSE BEEN THRU THIS WHO HAS SWITCHED PROGRAMS?

I haven't really written on here since I was a med student, but need some help. I'm currently doing my prelim year, and have decided to switch my advanced matched radiology spot from upstate new york (where i am now) to a well known program in dallas to be closer to family.

I heard about the opening, had a formal interview process and verbally was told my chairman and PD that i got accepted to the dallas program, and now will give up my matched program in Buffalo. Here's the problem, although I requested it, I haven't gotten any written confirmation of my acceptance to dallas since legally i haven't officially given up the buffalo program, and therefore dallas cannot write an acceptance letter!

my question is: should i be worried?! i know i'm overlly paranoid since i've heard of other ppl being screwed over, but this is a well known reputed program, and they wouldn't go back on their word, right? !Essentially i'm giving up a secure spot (buffalo), and will techinically be without a secured spot in dallas until the paperwork/contract work is done in a week or so. Is this the normal prcess? HAS ANYONE ELSE BEEN IN SIMILAR SIUTATIONS? Anyone who has made a switch MUST have gone thru this too, right??!!

plz help ASAP. Dallas is waiting for me to give up BUFFALO!

GYN DOC

10+ Year Member
    Feb 16, 2007
      First you need to call the nrmp to make sure that you and the dallas program are not violating the match. Didnt you match into the radiology program in addition to matching separately into the prelim - or were they together?

youcan'twin