1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

NEED HELP!

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by monkey17, Feb 27, 2001.

1. monkey17

monkey17 New Member

I'm a first year medical student at CCOM (which is an amazing school!) and am wondering what I should be doing during my first summer break. Is it imperative that I do research or find a clinical job? Where do I look or who do I contact for summer opportunities? Also, if anyone knows how hard it is to find a IM residency in Chicago from CCOM? All comments are welcomed.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Neurogirl

Neurogirl Resident Extraordinaire
    10+ Year Member

Your first summer break is a crucial time. YOU MUST USE THIS TIME WISELY! Your mission...should you choose to accept it, is to find a credit card with a high maximum limit...proceed to the nearest beach and relaaaaaaaaaxxxxxxx!

All kidding aside, you'll NEVER have another free summer...enjoy it! Chicago has several programs and IM isn't really that competitive. If your grades and board scores are at least average, you shouldn't have any problems.

[This message has been edited by Neurogirl (edited 02-27-2001).]

4. Liquid_Tension

Liquid_Tension Senior Member
    10+ Year Member