Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Need some advice!!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by guamboy, Dec 26, 2008.

1. guamboy

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hey guys,
    I'm new to the forum and I would appreciate some advice.
    I attend UCSD, I'm a freshman, and currently majoring in Electrical Engineering. I plan on switching to Human Bio and getting the premed requirements started.
    I had a rough 1st quarter; the following are my grades:
    Chem6a: W
    Math20a: C
    JAPN10a: B
    MMW1: B+
    ECE15: F(C Programming)
    This brings my GPA to a 2.1, I think.:(

On top of this I'm under the AFROTC scholarship which requires me to take two additional Classes(AS100&AS110) and a bunch Physical Training exercises. My school is in a quarter system, hence why I dropped Chem6a(Could not hack 7 classes).

Questions:
    1. Should I retake ECE15, despite the fact Im switching majors?
    2. Would it be beneficial to retake the class?
    3. Am I out of the running for a decent Med School, or any med school for that matter?
    4. Anyone had similar experiences? I'm doomed aren't I?:(

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. 236116

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    No to 1,2,3.
    Yes to 4a, no to 4b.

Take a intro-baby compsci. (unless ece15 is all that is offered).

What were the classes you took? I don't know what the codes mean.

4. RySerr21

RySerr21 i aint kinda hot Im sauna
    10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]

omg, you go to UCSD? That place pales in comparison to schools like UCLA and Berkeley. What were you thinking?? (p.s. i'm just kidding/making fun of this ridiculously stupid thread about which UC is the best. UCSD is a fine institution).