Need some advise! Completely Burned out.... and feeling a little scared.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Myopicvisions

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I feel like I am having an existential crisis and I really need some guidance!

I graduated this year with a BA in Biochemistry minoring in Political Science. I was ready to write my MCat this week (July 20) but I bottled out. I did the AAMC qpack material, NS full length etc but I felt there were too many holes in my content review. I felt burned out.
I plan to sit the Mcat in January 2020 but I want advise on what I can do to make my application as good as it can get for the next cycle.

So I have hospice volunteering( Over 500 hours), I shadowed a Radiation Oncologist for a month (Around 50hrs) and I have done various work with groups that work work with Breast Cancer awareness and Liver cancer awareness. I am working with a Cancer disparity project right now But Im not getting anything out of it but I did present a poster at a national conference. I did field work collecting samples for a global study. I am working as a Clinical Research Interviewer for a research study (CAPABLE). With the study the PI testified before the house committee and the research was green-lighted as something that will be looked into to see whether it can be part of MedicCare advantage.
I feel my application will be much more solid by next cycle as i will have had one year in this study. I also do really well recruiting and interviewing patients.
I believe the doctor will give me an incredible LOR and I have another LOR that I will get from a professor in my Biochem major (I did not have that and I know some schools want that LOR)

yet with all that. Knowing that I have all the baseline (bar the MCat) I feel like I am missing something.