Need some guidance on a possible career change

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

herc1945

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a current pharmacy student that is unfortunately going through something of a quarter life crisis at the moment. I'm enrolled in a three year program that is based off of a Pass/No pass curriculum and I have completed the first year of my two year academic curriculum. So I just have one year of classes and one full year of rotations before I receive my PharmD. I have recently completed my first summer rotation and am having second thoughts about my career choice. I wanted to list out all the variables at play and wanted to hear other people's thoughts on my situation. I'll keep this short.

I want to be a physician but I'm also trying to be as pragmatic as I can as I weigh out my options. I know its hard to put a price tag on happiness and some people might think I'm pursuing the wrong career path if I'm letting the money hold me back but I also don't want to be in debt for the rest of my life. Here is my situation:

The negatives
-Through my undergrad and after my first year of pharmacy school I'm hovering around 100k in debt. Tuition is around 40k a year at my pharmacy school.
-I have below average undergrad stats: 3.1cum/2.85science (including 2 repeats) from my bachelors. I also took 3 classes at a junior college the summer after acceptance to my pharmacy school that I used to fulfill enrollment requirements and received C's in all 3. So my gpa is tad lower.
-I haven't even begun studying for the MCAT but I have access to free kaplan 2015 test prep books and study materials.

The positives
-I can take a 1 year leave from school and continue the following year as a P2. So I don't have to fully drop out of my program.