Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Need some pre-med advice!!!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by jj52786, Dec 19, 2005.

1. jj52786

jj52786 Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hey so I am a sophomore undergrad at Johns Hopkins, and I need some advice about premed! Right now I'm a biomedical engineer major, the problem is this is one of the toughest majors in the school and getting a good gpa (over 3.6) is pretty difficult. Realistically, I will probably finish junior year with between a 3.4 and 3.5. So my question is, do med school take into account the difficulty of your undergrad major? Would the fact that I'm doing an engineering major, which from my experience is more difficult be taken into consideration? Because I truly enjoy bme and would hate to drop, but if its going to ruin my chances its not worth it.

Thanks alot

2. Manjot

Manjot Determined
    5+ Year Member

All majors get equal consideration when you apply to med school

3. stifler

stifler Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

i think they take in to consideration of your undergrad and major. but dont expect to get into harvard with a 3.4 youll get in somewhere just not the top schools chances are.

ppl will disagree but i think major and school only makes a difference if your gpa is like a 3.3 ppl would be like well this kid went to an elite schol and had a hard major that = 3.5. no one would add 0.2 to your gpa if its already 3.6.

4. kimmcauliffe

kimmcauliffe Surfer Chum
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    They're not just looking at your GPA, contrary to popular belief. They're also going to be looking at your MCAT scores as well as what experience(s) you have that will make you a good doctor.

Don't stress so much! A 3.4 or 3.5 is still an awesome GPA. Now get off the computer and go have a Newcastle.