azhong

10+ Year Member
Feb 9, 2009
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Hello,

This is my first post but I've been lurking these forums for about a year now since my last year in undergrad.

cGPA: 3.40
sGPA: 3.28
MCAT: 38S

Basically, I graduated in 2009 from UC Berkeley with a double major in Molecular and Cell Biology and Economics and while I was there, I volunteered at a free clinic for a year and did some research at a clinical psychology lab for about 2 years that involved a bit of patient interaction. I did relatively bad academically my first two years in college but I picked it up my last two years, which is the reason why my GPAs are relatively low.

Now I'm currently contracted for a year as a research associate at a relatively large medical instrumentation/biotech company and I was wondering if it was worth it for me to apply this cycle. Compounding all of this I don't think I will have the greatest of LORs either.

So basically, I'm very tentative to actually applying this year so I wanted to get some of your opinions based on what I've listed so far about myself.

Thanks!

If you have a steep upward trend in science classes those last two years, I think you're fine to apply in June 2010 based on numbers.

Based on ECs, it sounds like you have enough clinical experience (is it over 150 hours?), but I'd be concerned if nothing is recent. You don't mention shadowing, an essential in my mind, but you could get 60-80 hours of that done very quickly (3 docs) so you'd have the shadowing done and also have recent clinical exposure. You've got the research, but what about leadership, teaching, nonmedical community service, sports, artistic endeavors, and hobbies? I hope you'd have something to list under some of these. With some last minute beefing up, you might be good to go, depending on the answer to the above.

You don't think the LORs are malignant do you? That could be a death knell if red flags are raised.

OP
A

azhong

10+ Year Member
Feb 9, 2009