Need your advice!! Happy Holidays Everyone!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asdfray

currently at work
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new at SDNC and I thought it'd be best if I provide you guys with some idea of my background and what I've been up to, before I ask any questions:

I'm currently in the process of taking the prerequisites needed to apply for dental school. I'm a post-bach that has a first degree in Finance and Investment from a known business school in NYC and currently, I'm re-enrolled back as a 2nd degree student (though I'm not really finishing it). I've completed Bio 1 and 2, and currently taking Chem 1, Anatomy, and Physics 1 (Good chance I'll be receiving A's in all these courses.) Next semester I'm taking Chem 2, Physics 2, and Genetics.
1st Degree GPA - 3.26
Post-Bach GPA - 4.0

Looking at this trend, I probably wont be able to apply for Dental school til June of 2012 - which gives my more time to take more upper bio courses. Since I started taking the prereq. I've been volunteering at my local hospital's dental clinic and have well over 100 hrs of shadowing so far.

Though finals are approaching this week, I thought I'd take a break and ask you guys a couple of questions about what I should do from now til I apply for dental school. Here goes:

-Is it possible to take the DAT after you submit your application in June? If so, is there a timeframe of when It must be taken by? How does the this process work?

-I'm currently planning out my coursework for the next year I got a dilemma of when I should take Organic Chemistry. Which approach is better?
Alternative 1: Take Orgo 1 in the summer of 2011, leaving orgo 2 for the fall with biochemistry. Afterward, spend 5 months studying for the DAT and take it during the June of 2012 (along with a Kaplan course).