Needing advice. Foreign or wait another year?

Discussion in 'General International Discussion' started by tristan, Jun 4, 2002.

1. tristan

tristan Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Hello Everyone,

I'm in a tight situation rith now because I'm not sure if I will be able to get into a US med school this year. My GPA is 3.65 with a 3.4 Science. I'm currently on hold at UCdavis and Finch/CMS, but from the looks of it I don't think I'm going to get in. I'm having trouble getting in because I bombed the MCAT. I got 7v 9p 10b. I'm looking at Carribean schools, but I don't konw if it's a good idea because I've heard so many negative things about them. I don't know what to do. I don't want to ruin my 40 years of practice, but I also realize that now is not the time to be prideful. Should I apply(deadlines are coming up) or should I just retake the MCAT and reapply in the US? If I go foreign, which schools are the best? Thanks for your help. I'm totally new at this.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Annette

Annette gainfully employed
    Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    If you have a chance at US, go US. Can you wait another year? If so, retake the MCAT. If you feel you can't wait, apply to a foreign school. You can always drop out of it if you get an acceptance to a US school. As for which foreign schools? Go with a fairly well established one. St. George's in Grenada has the best reputation. AUC in St. Martin probably has the best place to live; Ross is fairly well established but has a bad reputation for living conditions. Keep in mind there are a lot of difficulties associated with being an FMG.

4. leorl

Physician Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    tristan, don't panic yet. Your grades are decent, and a 26 on the MCAT isn't that extremely horrible. I think you probably will be able to get into a US school, so don't jump the gun just yet.

5. leorl