Quantcast

Needing Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sim_md

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am from Australia and I am currently majoring in Sports Medicine/Exercise Science over here in the States. I have a solid GPA, but I have yet to take Organic I, II and Biochem, I have taken my physics requirements and am currently taking my biology requirements. I was wondering when i should take the MCATS, I will graduate next year at the end of summer when I complete my internship. I was also wondering if Australian Med Schools prefer a GAMSAT score to a MCAT score. I have no idea as to where I want to study, I was even looking at Canada, are there any suggestions about Canadian Med Schools? Any reply would be much appreciated. Thanks
smile.gif

K

kimberlicox

Originally posted by sim_md:
I am from Australia and I am currently majoring in Sports Medicine/Exercise Science over here in the States. I have a solid GPA, but I have yet to take Organic I, II and Biochem, I have taken my physics requirements and am currently taking my biology requirements. I was wondering when i should take the MCATS, I will graduate next year at the end of summer when I complete my internship. I was also wondering if Australian Med Schools prefer a GAMSAT score to a MCAT score. I have no idea as to where I want to study, I was even looking at Canada, are there any suggestions about Canadian Med Schools? Any reply would be much appreciated. Thanks
smile.gif

When and if you take the MCATs depends on where you are interested in going to medical school. Most students interested in US programs take it in April of the year they apply (which is about 9 - 15 months before matriculation). And most US students take the MCAT after finishing the required courses (Physics, O Chem, Gen Chem and Bio).