Neonatology & residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cameron

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year student and pediatrics is currently at the top of my list. I'm very interested in neonatology but have a few questions regarding residency programs. I've noticed that, relatively speaking, there aren't a lot of fellowship programs in neonatology. If I am interested in neonatology, is it essential that I match at a peds residency program that also has a neonatology fellowship program? I know that people routinely do fellowships at programs other than where they did their residency training, but I was just wondering what people thought. Also, how competitive is neonatology relative to other peds subspecialties? Thanks in advance for your comments.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello:

I suspect that Dr. HiFi will answer this as well, however, pending his insight, here are a few answers.

In general, there aren't a lot of pedi specialty programs, but neonatology actually has quite a few compared to other pedi specialties, although many are very small in terms of the number of fellows. It really isn't necessary to go to a highly academic residency or one that has a large neonatology fellowship program in order to get a fellowship position in neonatology. Of course, it helps to look for a program with a reasonably sized intensive care nursery in which residents get experience with procedures such as intubation and umbilical catheter placement. However, become expert at these isn't really crucial either for getting a good position.