Neuroscience vs. Biology Major...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

headedtomed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore in college who recently decided to go pre-med. I was planning on being a neuroscience major, but with the added pre-med requirements, I will probably not be able to maintain my current GPA. If I switch to a Biology major, the workload will be reduced, and I will most likely have a better GPA when applying to med schools. So my question is, would it be wise to switch to a Bio major?
Also, would a neuroscience major give me some kind of edge in the application process? There are SO many pre-med biology majors (and for good reason!), I thought neuro might set me apart from the crowd.
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

headedtomed said:
I'm currently a sophomore in college who recently decided to go pre-med. I was planning on being a neuroscience major, but with the added pre-med requirements, I will probably not be able to maintain my current GPA. If I switch to a Biology major, the workload will be reduced, and I will most likely have a better GPA when applying to med schools. So my question is, would it be wise to switch to a Bio major?
Also, would a neuroscience major give me some kind of edge in the application process? There are SO many pre-med biology majors (and for good reason!), I thought neuro might set me apart from the crowd.
Thanks!