Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

New DO exam

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by M00se, Feb 11, 2001.

1. M00se

M00se Member

I was wondering about how you all feel about the AOA having a new exam fro the comlex step 2. In 2004 all DO grads will be required to go to a single location somewhere in the US to take a hands on exam like the Canadian schools do. Are you prepared to pay the $1000 for the test and fly to this location for the test? They are voting on the proposals and I just wondered what you thought.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. rosebud

rosebud Member

I really dont see what we are supposed to gain from that. Personally, I HATE the idea.

4. Eric714

Eric714 Senior Member
    Physician

Attending Physician
    That sounds wack....

5. Eric714

Eric714 Senior Member
    Physician

Attending Physician
    I'm only a first year student..... but isn't the step 2 an oral exam anyway? so what would be the difference?

6. ewagner

ewagner Senior Member

Once again, it shows the AOA in their infinite wisdom, creating another stumbling block for Osteopathic Physicians-to-be.
    It is a HORRIBLE idea, and personally sounds like the work of "old timers" worried that DO's just don't have the "manual skills" of days gone by. Well, that may be, but I don't think a DO in 1965 had to worry about virology and the mechanisms of infectious disease like we do today. The COMLEX and the USMLE have for pharmacology and microbiology than ever before...and personally that doesn't leave alot of time to practice "Still's Technique" for the first rib!

Eric,
    As a MSIII I can assure you that the step 1,2 and 3 currently have NO oral components. Consistant with NBOME and AOA policy, it is still a "paper and pencil" exam unlike the USMLE and many allied health exams which are taken on computer.

7. Cottontop

Cottontop Member