New Grad Job Offers and Determining Salary & Production

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tulojow

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m currently a 4th year veterinary student and am (COVID willing) anticipating graduating this spring. I’ve been interviewing with a clinic I’m especially interested in and they’ve invited me to make an initial salary request. I‘ve done some research into cost of living and average salary for new grads so I have an idea of what annual salary I’m hoping for. The clinic uses salary and production (ProSal?) for clinicians.

I haven’t worked with this type of approach to wage so I’m struggling to figure out how to break down my target salary into a base salary and production. I recognize that, with this system, the salary is never guaranteed, but I’m trying to figure out a balance between the two that will average out to the target salary.

if anyone is willing to either share some insight into coming up with a reasonable ProSal request, I would very much appreciate it. Also, if you’re comfortable with sharing what your base salary and production percentage are and what that, on average, works out to, I’d also appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

I’m currently a 4th year veterinary student and am (COVID willing) anticipating graduating this spring. I’ve been interviewing with a clinic I’m especially interested in and they’ve invited me to make an initial salary request. I‘ve done some research into cost of living and average salary for new grads so I have an idea of what annual salary I’m hoping for. The clinic uses salary and production (ProSal?) for clinicians.