New pre-pharm student (with questions)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ticer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I have been reading SDN for about a month now, and this is my first post. I have learned so much about pharmacy, and pharmacy school and its admission process from reading these forums. Awesome, thanks to all you :)

I am brand new to college. I am starting at a CC and plan on transferring to UCSB for a B.S. in Pharmacology. I am currently enrolled in a few classes (pharm pre-reqs and for major). I will be enrolling full-time summer, and 18+ unit semesters here on out (stopped working for this). I have a few questions (hopefully not too obscure) concerning my pre-pharm path, along with my future B.S. transfer to a UC. Any feedback or suggestions will be appreciated much :)

The idea is that I want to combine both pre-pharm classes with major classes as best as I can.. and for the most part it seems I am able to do so. However I have a few hangups.

1.a To transfer to UCSB from ARC (CC) under the pharmacology b.s. according to assist.org, I need to take "1 complete sequence (2-3 terms) of major-applicable General Biology w/Lab". Using the assist.org resource it tells me to take 'Principles of Biology', 'Principles of Botany', and 'Principles of Zoology'.

1.b My question is whether you think I should be able to swap botany and zoology with anatomy&physiology 1&2. These are equivalent in both units and lab hours. Again, I am trying to have my courses apply both to transfer and pre-pharm reqs. Although, this resource does not list anatomy and physiology as classes that will satisy, it seems like it would?

2. I am thinking of taking 'Calculus for the Life and Social Sciences 1&2' to satisfy my full year of calc. This will satisfy my major transfer. I am wondering if these are acceptable as pre-pharm? They are 3 units versus the 5 units of "regular" calc.