New Pre-Pod, 1 comment & 1 question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Greetings,

I have been an SDN member for several months now.
I am a non-traditional student as I have recently left the military with the goal of taking pre-requisites toward becoming a primary health provider.
I initially was very interested in the DO realm - but over time have become very interested in podiatry.

Last week I shadowed a podiatrist for the full work day - it was a great experience. It basically confirmed conceptual idea that I would like podiatry and has motivated me to pursue this as a career. I was invited back to observe some surgeries as well - and eagerly awaiting this.

So - if you have been unsure of the job and have been on the edge - I strongly recommend the shadowing experience~ I actually made contact with a DPM through the AACPM <http://www.aacpm.org> "mentor program".

---------------------------
Question:
Can any more experienced pre-pods help me on the admissions time line? I am finishing my pre-reqs and taking the MCAT spring of 2009.

Do you recommend that I apply for 2009 fall entry and try to gain a conditional acceptance based upon completely pre-reqs and meeting a given mcat score? This would benefit my personal time line and avoid waiting another year for school.
My current cGPA is just over 3.5 and my science cGPA is around 3.6.

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.