• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

Gryhu

Dom
10+ Year Member
Mar 10, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Hey guys, I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm currently a second semester sophomore at Stony Brook University in NY and I'm planning on taking the MCATs next summer. I've been reading SDN for a while and just recently joined. One article that caught my eye was about podiatry and how its a growing profession. I then shadowed a podiatrist and I love it!

I'm a pre-med to pre-pod convert like some other pre-pods but not because I don't have the stats to get into med school(3.6 Sci and overall GPA) but because I like the fact that podiatrists are the foot and ankle authority.

I always knew I wanted to do something with medicine but I never could really choose a specialty. Podiatry is my calling; I love the idea that I will be the patients radiologist, rheumatologist, dermatologist, surgeon, etc. when it comes to their foot and ankles. I can do everything! :cool:

Anyone have suggestions on what to do the next two years before pod school?

- Bahaa

dpmPOD

10+ Year Member
Feb 5, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Podiatry Student
Volunteering woulden't hurt, nor would getting a letter of rec. from the podiatrist you shadowed. Also, start making connections with some of your professors as you'll need them to write you letters as well at some point. Study for the MCAT and keep up the good work :thumbup:

About the Ads

crhoody12

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 27, 2007
Philadelphia
Status (Visible)
  1. Podiatry Student
he's a chelsea fan. i think he should be banned from the forum, and the dpm community all together. sorry, just my opinion.

APMAHelp

Consultant
Partner Organization
10+ Year Member
May 7, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Academic Administration