New to SDN!!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Tweetie_bird, Nov 22, 2001.

1. Tweetie_bird

Hi guys,
    This is my first time here, and already I feel like I am such a part of this community. I've been reading posts for the last hour and am amazed to see such a supportive group. That is probably the reason I decided to post my message here, and state some concerns I have regarding my application for 2003.

I know I know, it's probably very early to think about it, but I like the philosophy of "the early tweetie gets the worm." Can Tweetie eat worms?? Anyway, to make a long story short, I basically want to ask a lot of you applying/experienced Pre-meds the age old question-what are my chances?? Quick stats on me--Biology major with TONS of classes in Psych (including graduate level.) Undergrad GPA of 3.35. Horrible first year and a half, but 3.7 - 4.0 in O Chem, upper Bio and Zoology classes, and Biochem. Last two years were decent in grades (3.5 and above). Lots of research; one acknowledgement, one pub next year that will be presented in Spain (third author.) Clinical research positions where have I worked directly with patients; EMT license; and good leadership roles in community and school. I know I may sound competitive (I hope!) initially but my concern is this--I totally flunked out of my elementary Bio and Calculus classes (2.1 to 3.0's). I don't want to sound like I am making excuses, but a death in the family, a recent move from a different country to settle in the US, and academic maturity (read: couldn't cope with college) had a lot to do with it. I am not interested in taking more undergrad classes. It sounds silly, but I am craving to get back into school. I would HATE to not get in on my first try. Oh, and I graduated in 2000.