new to site.....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chris609

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
HI-
Im new here and i just had a couple of questions? Im in my second year of college and I am really think of going to medical school. My question is what do you need to do to apply for med. school? Also what are the requirment? I do volunteer work at a clinical and I am a EMT(emergency medical technician), does this help in anyway?Thanks for everything.:)

Members don't see this ad.

in brief: volunteer work is essential, especially in a clinical capacity, so you sound like you're well on your way in that regard. beyond volunteer work, you'll need to take your pre-med pre-reqs (1 yr each w/ lab of chem/bio/orgo/physics) and the mcat.

Originally posted by Chris609
HI-
Im new here and i just had a couple of questions? Im in my second year of college and I am really think of going to medical school. My question is what do you need to do to apply for med. school? Also what are the requirment? I do volunteer work at a clinical and I am a EMT(emergency medical technician), does this help in anyway?Thanks for everything.:)

fresh meat.... haha jp.

well basically all you need to do is take the med school prereq classes for admission.
basically (i think you should check for each school slightly varies...)
1 year of bio with lab
1 year of gen/phys chem with lab
1 year orgo with lab
1 year physics usu with lab
1 year math
1 year english
i think these are basics. other people will correct me if im wrong or will add accordingly...

some schools require biochem others dont...
some (well only ucla i think) req stats...