New to this kind of thing..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meen2603

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello you all.. I'm international student and I'm new in this kind of thing. I need help really. I'm interested in Orthopaedics but I don't know what's the different between DO and MD.. ARe they both considered Physician? I know that DO is about the bone but If I'm interested to be a surgeon which one should I go.. Thanks in advance..

Members don't see this ad.

Hello you all.. I'm international student and I'm new in this kind of thing. I need help really. I'm interested in Orthopaedics but I don't know what's the different between DO and MD.. ARe they both considered Physician? I know that DO is about the bone but If I'm interested to be a surgeon which one should I go.. Thanks in advance..

This has been covered so many times on the boards it's unreal. I think there are probably 3 threads about MD vs DO on the main page alone, not to mention the sticky at the top of the page, and the FAQ/Search function.

Both are physicians in the US (check international practice rights if you want to practice somewhere else), DOs have nothing to do with 'the bone' ... despite what the osteo thing might suggest (DOs have more training in musc/skel systems and learn OMM - which kinda go hand in hand, but they aren't bone doctors).

DO's are usually refered to as witch doctors who practice vodoo and cast spells. They only consider physician an md

Members don't see this ad :)
I still need the answer which way I should go for.. MD or DO If I want to do ortho residency?

please, spare the rest of us and do your own research and come up with your own decision. your international status does not exempt you from being able to do a search and make a decision based on what you know...step up and stop asking for others to think for you.