Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

new york state residents, SUNY upstate or drexel?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by zurned, Dec 3, 2005.

1. zurned

zurned Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

SUNY upstate would be cheaper for me because im an NY resident. But Drexel seemed like such a nice place to learn (facilities, ppl, etc). And philly is closer to nyc which is where my family is and the weather is nicer too than in syracuse. Neither of these schools are what you would call prestigious, so which would you choose?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. tulane06

tulane06 Private Joker
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I would say Drexel if you are willing to take out the loans.....I think Syracuse has the most gray days of any city in the U.S.

4. 10yearmedic

10yearmedic Member
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I doubt is compares to Seattle for number of gray days.

5. jackets5

jackets5 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

interesting question. Im a new york resident myself and would have tough time with that decsion. Syracuse is so rural and being a suburban/big city (grew up on long island) guy myself i really couldnt picture living in that area. That being said it is a pretty big difference in price. At drexel you will have alot more opportunitites for research and to make some contacts with all the other schools around and just being in a big city. See what drexels finacial aid package is like then make a decision. Personally, id be willing to take an extra 50k in loans to be in philly instead of syracuse.

6. drmota

drmota 2K Member
    5+ Year Member