Next steps for medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ajohnson_93

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
This post will be lengthy because i feel the need to explain before i ask for advice. At age 18, i graduated high school with a 1.2 GPA. To explain, I was a foster child who was tossed around from shelter to shelter and home to home. Most of the grades i received in high school were from well meaning people who handed me a grade because they felt sorry for me. I had never even taken Algebra 2 much less calculus. I didn't take biology or chemistry or physics. I was honestly never in the same class for a whole year or semester in high school. When i was 19 i decided i wanted more, i wanted to go to college, so i applied. I sat down for lunch with an old judge of mine who suggested social work as my career and told me how to apply and how to get aid. I was accepted to a university with help from him. I signed up for social work courses and immediately started struggling with all the work. I didn't know how to handle multiple classes, i didn't know how to study, and i didn't know how to even begin asking for help to do literally anything. Also, i hated everything i learnt about social work. I withdrew from school the second semester.