NJ NG to Navy or Navy HPSP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorS_

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all -- I'd like to consult the wisdom of this board. I'm a first year med student in NJ with an interest in EM as a specialty (considering others and open minded but strong feeling I will end up in EM). I also have an interest in serving in the military (so not just considering these for the money). I have a strong desire to be a Navy physician, but I am open to other branches.

Here are the two paths I am considering:

1. NJ ARNG/ANG for a 2 or 4 year contract (is this even possible? still waiting to hear from the AMEDD recruiter -- preferably 3 years but I have only hear of even year numbered contracts) in drilling status without MDSSP. Afterwards, should I desire to continue with the Navy, I would attempt to enter go through Navy FAP or TMS or direct commission after residency. The pros of this option is 100% tuition waiver (program by NJ) and civilian residency. Con would be having to switch branches.

2. 3 year Navy HPSP. Pro would be scholarship and being with Navy from the start, but con would be the fact that I owe 3 years as a physician. I'm not completely sure where I want to be professionally, but the option of either mil residency or 3 year GMO tour and out sounds like a pro.

I originally did not consider Reserves/NG because I wanted to be all-or-nothing (AD or nothing) -- I feel like deployments, drill, and annual training would be difficult on colleagues I practice with in the future. Now looking more closely at their programs, NG seems to have the most benefit. I considered USNR, but for the same commitment, NG has more benefit.

Any opinions on either? I have lurked on this board for years, so I have read about the negatives associated with mil med. I still have the desire to be involved, and this has been present for years so I'm not sure if it will go away.