No opportunity to do PM&R research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Deucedano

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first year medical student and I have to do a research project to graduate. Unfortunately, my school does not have a residency program and our pm&r department is very small. My question is does it matter whether or not I do research in PM&R? I have narcolepsy and many research ideas that I would like to explore, but it is a completely different area than PM&R. How would PD's view something like that? My advisor also told me not to disclose my disability because it is viewed as a weakness, so would that throw up a red flag if I didnt disclose for the match?

On a side note, I was also wondering how important extracirriculars are in matching in PM&R. I am involved in a joint project between the head of our rehab hospital and undergraduate engineering students who are designing devices to aid SCI patients with daily living. We plan to present this at an orthopedic conference in June. I am also the vice-president of the business club and am in the process of starting a PM&R interest group. I hate the way this sounds, but is this enough. There is not much else I would like to do in my area and I refuse to participate in something Im not interested in.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

What you are doing is enough. PM&R doesn't demand research, and certainly not in the field. It certainly doesn't hurt if you have it, might help you to have a PM&R-based research project. But you will do far better doing something that interests you and is close to you, than something you know nothing about. It will clearly show in your work either way.