1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

No-Pay Research

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by futureMD90210, Nov 30, 2008.

1. futureMD90210

I am a college graduate and I have been doing research in a Plastic surgery clinic at a medical university here in California (for about 30 hours a week). I do clinical research so I get some good patient interaction and what not, but the only problem is that there is no pay(I have discussed this before with the PI and since it is a non-funded study there is no compensation). Furthermore, the project that we are doing does not have an end date in sight, as it depends on the patients we get ( i.e. I could be working right up until the start of medical school)

I recently got into a medical school and I would possibly like to do a Plastics residency in the future (or at least have the option to do so), but I would also like to spend my next 6 months before medical school traveling, taking an anatomy class to prepare for medical school or making some money to help pay for my college loans (~$600 a month)

I am afraid that if I leave they may not be able to find anyone else to conduct these trials and it may jeopardize the study (and also reflect negatively on me in the eyes of the PI). I am immensely grateful for the opportunity and I know that this could potentially help me in the future for residency, but it is frustrating that I am working so hard and not getting paid for the work I do. I also feel like I should be enjoying my time before medical school starts.

Is it common to do research jobs like this for no pay? Am I being unreasonable to be frustrated? Should I just stay with my current research position for no pay or should I go ahead and pursue something else for these next 6 months?

Any advice is MUCH appreciated!:)

#1 futureMD90210, Nov 30, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2008