No stranger to healthcare... Med School, that's another story.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TraumaMedJunkie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to the SDNF. I'm seeking some advice.
While I just graduated from high school, I think I'm taking a more nontraditional course to become a MD.

Here's some background information on me. I'm 17. I dropped out of my private christian high school when I was 16 so I could get my GED and be done with high school. At that time my plan was to go to nursing school so I didn't think me dropping out would be that big of a deal. I took the GED exam and within a month of dropping out of high school, I had my high school diploma. I started doing my prerequisites for nursing school at the same community college I wished to attend nursing school. While I was taking some prerequisites I started volunteering at a local hospital. I fell in love with the environment. After a few months and a over 500 hours of volunteer work, the facility offered me a paid position. I am now an operating room assistant and loving it. I recently decided that I had a huge respect for nurses and what they do, but I wanted to go to medical school. I started to tell the RNs I work with about my plans, they all encouraged me and said I would do great in school and would make an excellent physician.

Here's my dilemma; I'm a 17 year old high school drop out (with diploma) who failed 1 of the two first college classes I ever took. (out of lack of studying)

I need some input from others. I don't know what to study for pre-med, I'm open to anything. I'm not great at math but I could always get some tutoring. Should I take the SAT since I have a sad high school transcript?

Will me being a high school drop out hurt my chances of getting into med school down the road?

What can I do to make myself look worthy of getting into pre-med/medical school?