No volunteer experience in a medical setting

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jenberg23

Reaction score
I'm a rising sophomore in college and so far I have had no luck with finding a place that will give me exposure to a medical setting and I barely have any volunteer experiences. I was about to start a scribe job at a hospital but that didn't work out because of COVID. I have been applying to hospitals but a lot require experience and certain certifications which I don't have such as CMA/CNA. I'm starting to get worried that I won't be able to get clinical exposure and my resume will be lacking volunteer experiences. I'm not sure what I should do at this point, I don't want to run out of time.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a rising sophomore in college and so far I have had no luck with finding a place that will give me exposure to a medical setting and I barely have any volunteer experiences. I was about to start a scribe job at a hospital but that didn't work out because of COVID. I have been applying to hospitals but a lot require experience and certain certifications which I don't have such as CMA/CNA. I'm starting to get worried that I won't be able to get clinical exposure and my resume will be lacking volunteer experiences. I'm not sure what I should do at this point, I don't want to run out of time.
Don't worry, you still have lots of time! Just keep looking. I'm up here in Canada and as COVID starts to cool down here I've noticed more positions available. I assume the same will happen down where you're at.

But also look for contact tracing jobs, or other jobs which can be done online or on the phone.

Goodluck!

Reactions: 1 user
Consider becoming an EMT. Good experience, can volunteer or get paid and not too hard

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)